Voter Registration Deadline

Original post: September 25, 2016

We are officially in the home stretch!  One week left to reach my 30 pound target that makes a miracle happen – having Ray submit his information to become a registered voter.

How far away am I from that goal?  THREE POUNDS.

Normally I wouldn’t be nervous about reaching this number, but I’ve had a roller coaster two weeks where I’ll gain two pounds and then lose it back again from one day to the next. Thankfully, the overall trend is still down, but when I’m THIS close to our date…it makes me a little nervous to have this shaky downhill spiral.

But it’s go time and I mean business!

So I’m going to put a laser focus on this week and crush these last three pounds. Thankfully, Ray was in Chicago for the second time and pretty much left me in a state of sheer exhaustion.  I think my arms are broken today – seriously!

However, despite his major fault of not taking civic engagement seriously, I can tell he really wants me to win this crazy bet.  So let’s give him a little heat because he should be voting, but also some kudos for not trying to sabotage me so he can win.

Ray gives off this super tough exterior, but he’s a big ole softy and I love it. He knows how to have fun but can be really intense about his work (hence his success and that of his clients).  The scary intensity has not come my way yet as I haven’t done anything to make him use it against me – thank goodness! Instead, I get trainer mode Ray and then this silliness when we aren’t training:

img_9366
This man is wearing my poncho because the restaurant was freezing – ha!

But let’s talk progress.  Obviously, the scale is showing me that the work I’m putting in and the better eating is making a huge difference for my weight, but what about my actual fitness level?

I’ve definitely gotten stronger.

I’ve doubled my dumbbell weight and now find the 5 pounds seem like nothing…until I have to use them for 50 reps. However, it does feel good to be completing reps with the heavier weight when I know I could have never done that two months ago.

My form is also getting better.

I’m more flexible…I can easily do toe touches…I can hold planks longer.  I mean look at this squat!

img_9288

And my confidence in my physical appearance is growing. I see the changes, and I really like what’s happening. I’m even starting to not get annoyed when I see pics or videos of me working out.  What?!

img_9422-1

I feel good and apparently it’s showing in everything I do. People tell me I look happier and that I have a glow about me now. And you know what? I’m not only happy, I’m proud of myself!

img_9315

And don’t forget to register to vote!  The registration deadline is quickly approaching!  You can do that here.

vote

 

Leave a comment